Tags

, , ,

Push Pause is a tiny snippet posted every Tuesday. It is an invitation for you to push pause on the tasks at hand and intentionally take a moment to reflect on your soul journey.

Take Notice

If the babysitter cancels last-minute, the cleaning lady never returns your call, the hairdresser seems last chatty, or if the gardener doesn’t show up–again…Take notice. Not of the overgrown grass, or the layers of grime on the floors. Take notice something could be amiss. I know anyone could forget an appointment, misplace their phone, even lose their calendar. But what if it’s moreWhat if we pushed pause in these moments and prayed for the person.

My Push Pause: Mr. Tran comes every other Tuesday to mow our grass. I haven’t seen him for five weeks. When the first scheduled Tuesday came and went, I was certain he would come the next day. But even then my spirit paused and I prayed for him. Mr. Tran didn’t come the next day or any day that week. When I came home today, the second scheduled Tuesday in these five weeks, nothing in my yard changed. Nothing. My heart sank as I wondered, “Is Mr. Tran okay?” I won’t know till I see him again. He barely has a place to lay his head and his severely ill wife is cared for by his daughter. Honestly, do you think I care about my overgrown lawn?

No. I. don’t.

And as much as it may pain the neighbors or my husband, I’m not going to hire another gardener to cut the grass. The long, green blades remind me to pray. Mr. Tran is not just a gardener. He is a human being. A real live man filled with hopes, dreams, hurts and struggles. I’m taking notice and I’m praying.

Won’t you push pause today to take notice and pray for someone. Share your stories here.

Let’s meet again on Thursday to go deeper in the journey…together. ~L

 

