Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Push Pause is a tiny snippet posted every Tuesday. It is an invitation for you to push pause on the tasks at hand and intentionally take a moment to reflect on your soul journey.

 

I came across this quote from a fellow blogger this week.

“If the day comes when I start thinking of this blog and myself important on its own and not because of Who it should be pointing to, then it would be time to stop blogging.”Kelly J. Youngblood

You don’t have to be a blogger to give pause to this statement. There comes a time for everyone in every season of every journey where motives of the heart need to be re-evaluated. How would you fill in the blanks to this statement? Below are some ideas to get your brain to engage with your soul.

“If the day comes when I start thinking of this career and myself important on its own and not because of Who it should be pointing to,

…then it would be time to stop climbing the corporate ladder.”

“If the day comes when I start thinking of this house and myself important on its own and not because of Who it should be pointing to,

…then it would be time to stop working on it and simply enjoy it.

“If the day comes when I start thinking of this social media and myself important on its own and not because of Who it should be pointing to,

…then it would be time to stop posting and tweeting.”

“If the day comes when I start thinking of this book and myself important on its own and not because of Who it should be pointing to,

…then it would be time to stop writing.”

“If the day comes when I start thinking of this ministry and myself important on its own and not because of Who it should be pointing to,

…then it would be time to stop and take a sabbatical.”

If the only purpose to doing what we do is to gain something for ourselves, then we’ve completely missed the point of our existence. Our one and only purpose in this life is to glorify God. I’m pushing pause today (and for the next few days) to re-evaluate and allow Him to reveal the motives of my heart.

How about you? Are you willing to allow the Holy One to peer in your heart and reveal truth to you?

Let’s meet again on Thursday to go deeper on the journey…together. ~L

 

