Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I dipped the metal tip in the tiny bottle of glimmering gold ink and thoughtfully penned the letters to the most beloved and well-known passage in the Bible. The twenty-third Psalm.

It was part of the initiation of my new journal.

The gold ink glistened truth of my Lord. He is my Shepherd, my restorer, my hope, my healer and my peace.

As the ink dripped off the tip of my pen and soaked into the black paper, it saturated into my soul.

I’ve known Psalm 23 for nearly a decade. I’ve read it, memorized it, given talks about it at retreats and churches, designed a psalm 23 bracelet and sold a few across the globe. I know Psalm 23. And yet, as the gold ink flowed off my pen new revelation came.

How did I never see this before?

The writer of this psalm, David, uses the pronoun “he” when referring to God in the first three verses of this passage.

He leads me…

He restores me…

He guides me…

In verse four the writer becomes inconsistent with his pronoun for God and changes it from “he”, to “you”. David stops talking about God and starts talking to God.

Yes, this matters. It really does.

It doesn’t matter so much that the pronoun changed, but where in the passage it changed.

Are you ready for this?

Everything changed in the valley.

Even though I walk through the valley of death I will fear no evil, for You are with me.

And it continues this way to the end…

You comfort…

You prepare…

You anoint…

What is the new revelation?

God becomes personal in our darkest season—in the valley.

It is in our darkest times God becomes real. When life crowds all around us, when we are in a circumstance beyond our grasp, God becomes known—He becomes personal.

I don’t know where you are right now on your soul journey. But something tells me if you are here, singing a Broken Hallelujah with me, then you’ve experienced some kind of heartache or circumstance that has left you wanting, even longing for His touch. You want to know He is real even in all that is.

And He is.  He. Is. Real.

The valley is a dark and scary place filled with pain, grief and the unknown, but this is also the place our longing is satisfied. It’s where, if we dare, we meet Jesus face to face. It’s where hope blooms in our soul and the Light of the world walks us through the darkness.

This valley is where God becomes personal.

It’s time to get personal with God.

You are not alone, friend.

~

On the journey with you, ~L

~

~Do you consider God a personal God?

~How do you experience Him?

Here or somewhere…be real. Share your journey.

Relevant Music

The Lord is my Shepherd by Issac Meyer, IHOP Limited Edition Vol. 22

Reflective Scripture
Psalm 23
A psalm of David.

1 The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. 2He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, 3he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. 4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,[a] I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. 6 Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

New International Version 1984 (NIV 1984)

Footnotes:

  1. Psalm 23:4 Or through the darkest valley
