Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Photo by Kris Lozano Photography

Photo by Kris Lozano Photography

I see you there. Surrounding yourself with tasks for the days, hiding plastic eggs, tying brightly colored ribbons into bows, and adorning the dining table with all things Easter. You dip into the candy bowl of pastel chocolates for just one more handful before heading out to church.

I see you.

I see your strained smile as you walk through the sanctuary doors. I see you close your eyes as the voices rise in song and the only prayer you can muster is, “God, just get me through this day.”

I see you.

I see your aching heart as voices all around you sing in unison, “Hallelujah, the Lamb has overcome,” and you wonder when will the finished work of the cross 2,000 years ago ever catch up with your life right here, right now.

I see you.

I see your heart wrestle with the resurrected life of the God-Man. His death and resurrection was intended to bring life and wholeness to yours. But it doesn’t. Not today anyway. And, well…not yesterday either. They say the empty tomb gives hope for tomorrow, but you can barely live through today.

I see you.

And I see you trust that teeny tiny pill you swallow every night more than this Savior who conquered death itself.

And Dear One, it’s okay. All of it is okay. It really is.

It’s okay where you are in your journey. You don’t need to strive to be anywhere else than where you are. Take a breath. You’ll get through this day, through the doubts, through the anguish of feeling lost on a day everyone sings, “…but now I’m found.” It’s okay. You can be you right where you are.

Breathe deeply Dear One. There is grace for you on the journey.

On the journey with you,
Laura

